La Gran Academia de Lagado

L. Quintanilla, La Gran Academia de Lagado

I went into another chamber, but was ready to hasten back, being almost overcome with a horrible stink.  My conductor pressed me forward, conjuring me in a whisper “to give no offense, which would be highly resented;” and therefore I durst not so much as stop my nose.  The projector of this cell was the most ancient student of the academy; his face and beard were of a pale yellow; his hands and clothes daubed over with filth.  When I was presented to him, he gave me a close embrace, a compliment I could well have excused.  His employment, from his first coming into the academy, was an operation to reduce human excrement to its original food, by separating the several parts, removing the tincture which it receives from the gall, making the odour exhale, and scumming off the saliva.  He had a weekly allowance, from the society, of a vessel filled with human ordure, about the bigness of a Bristol barrel.

(Entré en otro cuarto, pero me eché atrás enseguida por un hedor terrible que casi me tumba. Mi acompañante me empujó adelante suplicándome en un susurro que no diera motivo de ofensa, que se tomaría muy a mal, así que no me atreví ni a taparme la nariz. El proyectista de esta celda era el investigador más antiguo de la Academia. La cara y la barba las tenía de un amarillo pálido, las manos y la ropa completamente embadurnadas de porquería. Cuando nos presentaron me dio un abrazo muy fuerte, cortesía que bien le hubiera excusado. Su ocupación desde que llegó a la Academia era un procedimiento para convertir el excremento humano en el alimento que originalmente es, separando los diversos componentes, retirando el tinte que le da la bilis, haciendo que el olor se evaporara y purificándolo de la saliva. Recibía de la Sociedad la donación semanal de un recipiente lleno de heces humanas del tamaño de un tonel de Bristol.)

Jonathan Swift, Gulliver’s Travels, Part 3, Chapter 5.

Responder

